School Governance

The Governors of Moseley School and Sixth Form are responsible for the staffing, finance, premises, curriculum and future planning of the school.

The Governors work very closely with the senior leadership team in making decisions about the school.

Co-opted Governors
Patricia Beanland (Chair)  Renew date: 06/07/25
Nazir Khan (Vice Chair)  Renew date: 06/07/25
Akhtar Choudhary  Renew date: 06/07/25
Nargis Rashid  Renew date: 06/07/25
Laura Amerasekera
Renew date: 16/09/23
Saqub Sheikh
Renew date: 08/12/24
Co-opted Governor Vacancy TBC
Co-opted Governor Vacancy TBC
Andrew Bate Ex – Officio
Parent Governors
Sadia Ali Renew date: 15/07/25
Nuru Mohammed Renew date: 14/01/23
Local authority
Shamsul Arifeen Renew date: 30/03/25
Staff Governors
Safraz Hussain Renew date: 29/09/22
Partnership Governors
Partnership Governor Vacancy Renew date: 15/07/25
Associate members
Selvaraj Vincent Renew date: 8/12/24

The contact address for governors is c/o Moseley School, Wake Green Road, Moseley, Birmingham, B13 9UU.

Governor Special Responsibility Links

All of our Governors are linked to a specialist area, providing support and advice.


Safeguarding / Child Protection Governor: Laura Amerasekera
SEND Governor: Nazir Khan
Health and Safety Governor: Akhtar Choudhary
Safer Recruitment Governor: Patricia Beanland
Community Links Governor: Sarfaz Hussain
Equalities Governor: Nargis Rashid
Website: Saqub Sheikh
Training Governor: Nargis Rashid
Pastoral Link Governor: Nazir Khan

Governors Faculty Links

All of our Governors are linked to a faculty providing support and advice.


Faculty Head of Faculty  Governor

Chris Green 

Rachel Slowey 

Jenny Wilkie 

Nargis Rashid
Maths Dave Marrott Patricia Beanland
Science Phil Kinnaird  Nazir Khan
Humanities Sarfraz Hussain  Vacant
Languages Alan Boyes  Akhtar Choudhary
Social Science Kully Sandal  Vacant
Vocational Education Rebecca Burrell  Laura Amarasekera
Technology / The Arts Viraj Sharma  Shamsul Arifeen
Sixth Form John Boyle  Nuru Mohammed

Jennie Howes 

Simon Bowler 




Full Govering Body
  • Patricia Beanland (Chair)
  • Nazir Khan (Vice Chair)
  • Akhtar Choudhary
  • Nargis Rashid
  • Laura Amerasekera
  • Saqub Sheikh
  • Andrew Bate – HT
  • Sadia Ali
  • Nuru Mohammed
  • Shamsul Arifeen
  • Safraz Hussain
  • Selvaraj Vincent
Resources Committee
  1. Patricia Beanland
  2. Akhtar Choudhary
  3. Shamsul Arifeen
  4. Nargis Rashid
  5. Saqub Sheikh
  6. Andrew Bate – HT

Minimum of three members required.

Curriculum & Student Matters Committee
  1. Nazir Khan
  2. Laura Amarasekera
  3. Sarfraz Hussain
  4. Nuru Mohammed
  5. Sadia Ali

Minimum of three members required.

Staff Disciplinary & Dismissal Committee Governors derived from other committees.
Staff Disciplinary & Dismissal Appeals Committee Governors derived from other committees.
Pupil Disciplinary Committee Governors derived from other committees.


Governor Register of Attendance 2018 - 2019

Click Here to Download

Code of Conduct

All governors are required to sign a Code of Conduct to ensure that standards are maintained.

Code of Conduct for Governors

Click Here to Download

Pecuniary Interests

All Governors are required to declare Pecuniary Interests. These declarations are held at the School and if you wish to have access to this please contact the Headteachers PA.

Pecuniary interests of governing body members in the table below:

School Governors - Business Interests

Click Here to Download

School Governors - Pecuniary Interests

Click Here to Download

Term Dates

School News

Student Handbook

Photo Gallery

School Website Design by Blue Apple Education